2016: Winning Teams List

Winning Teams List 2016

Of the 1,084 papers submitted to this year’s Challenge, 174 (16%) advanced to the second round of judging. A total of 90 distinctions were awarded with scholarship prizes, roughly 8% of submissions.

Finalists (Top 6 teams)

The top six awards, ranging from $5,000 to $20,000, were awarded after the final round of judging on April 30 to teams representing the following high schools.

M3 Challenge Champions, $20,000 Team Prize
Saint John’s School
(Team # 6811), Houston, Texas
Coach: Dwight Raulston
Students: Nancy Cheng, Eric Gao, Daniel Shebib, Anirudh Suresh, Margaret Trautner

M3 Challenge First Runner Up, $15,000 Team Prize
Carmel High School
(Team # 7733), Carmel, Indiana
Coach: Peter Beck
Students: Miles Dai, Tiger Huang, Simon Langowski, Joseph Philleo

M3 Challenge Third Place, $10,000 Team Prize
Governor Livingston High School
(Team # 7497), Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Coach: Steven Hess
Students: Alexander Ju, Gianna Miggins, Niyant Narang, Anna Song, Michael Wu

M3 Challenge Finalist, $5,000 Team Prize
La Salle Academy
(Team #6617), Providence, Rhode Island
Coach: Michael McNamara
Students: Audrey Cryan, Allison Paul, Eileen Phou, Joshua Reno, Eric Salisbury

M3 Challenge Finalist, $5,000 Team Prize
Montgomery Blair High School
(Team # 7138), Silver Spring, Maryland
Coach: William Rose
Students: Ethan Holland, Raymond Lin, Eshan Tewari, Victoria Tsai, Jamie Vinson

M3 Challenge Finalist, $5,000 Team Prize
NC School of Science and Mathematics
(Team # 7412), Durham, North Carolina
Coach: Dan Teague
Students: Simon Marland, Vinit Ranjan, Katherine Yang, Sunwoo Yim, Kelly Zhang

Semi-Finalist Teams

Papers from the following six teams underwent in-depth discussion and were deemed to be of exceptional quality by judges. They were recognized as Semi-Finalists and received prizes of $1,500 each.

Academic Magnet High School (Team #7901), N. Charleston, South Carolina, Coach: Gwen Hooffstetter
Adlai E. Stevenson High School (Team #6411), Lincolnshire, Illinois, Coach: Paul Kim
High Technology (Team #7009), Lincroft, New Jersey, Coach: Ellen LeBlanc
NC School of Science and Mathematics (Team #7411), Durham, North Carolina, Coach: Dan Teague
Newton South High School (Team #7508), Newton, Massachusetts, Coach: Steven Rattendi
Pine View (Team #6610), Osprey, Florida, Coach: Christine DeVeau

Honorable Mention Teams

Teams representing the following 78 schools were recognized with Honorable Mention distinction. Team prizes of of $1,000 each were awarded to them for noteworthy submissions.

Academy for Allied Health and Biomedical Sciences, Woodbridge, New Jersey
Andover High School, Andover, Kansas
Avon High School, Avon, Indiana
Bergen County Academies, Hackensack, New Jersey
Biotechnology High School, Freehold, New Jersey
Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School, Indianapolis, Indiana
Brookfield Central High School, Brookfield, Wisconsin
Chamblee Charter High, Chamblee, Georgia
Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Chesterton High School, Chesterton, Indiana
Council Rock High School South, Holland, Pennsylvania
Earl Wooster High School, Reno, Nevada
East Grand Rapids High School, Grand Rapids, Michigan
Eastside High School, Gainesville, Florida
Edgemont Jr./Sr. High School, Scarsdale, New York
Enloe High School, Raleigh, North Carolina
Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Illinois
Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Illinois
Fort Mill High School, Fort Mill, South Carolina
George Washington High School, Denver, Colorado
Gloucester High School, Gloucester, Massachusetts
Greensboro Day School, Greensboro, North Carolina
Hamilton High School, Chandler, Arizona
Harrison High School, Harrison, New York
Health Careers HS, San Antonio, Texas
High Technology, Lincroft, New Jersey
Holmdel High School, Holmdel, New Jersey
Hudson High School, Hudson, Massachusetts
Hunter College High School, New York, New York
Hunterdon Central Regional High School, Flemington, New Jersey
Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, Aurora, Illinois
J. R. Masterman School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Lake Zurich Senior High School, Lake Zurich, Illinois
Lower Moreland High School, Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Maggie L Walker Governor’s School, Richmond, Virginia
Marlboro High School, Marlboro, New Jersey
Mentor High School, Mentor, Ohio
Meridian School, Round Rock, Texas

Montclair High School, Montclair, New Jersey
Montgomery Blair, Silver Spring, Maryland
Nashoba Regional High School, Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Northview High School, Johns Creek, Georgia
Northwestern Lehigh High School, New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Norton High School, Norton, Massachusetts
Oregon Episcopal School, Portland, Oregon
Overland High School, Aurora, Colorado
Pine View School, Osprey, Florida
Providence Academy, Plymouth, Minnesota
Punahou School, Honolulu, Hawaii
Ridge High School, Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Ridgefield High School, Ridgefield, Connecticut
Ridgefield High School, Ridgefield, Connecticut
Sachse High School, Sachse, Texas
Shoreham-Wading River High School, Shoreham, New York
Silver Creek High School, Longmont, Colorado
South County High School, Lorton, Virginia
Spring-Ford High School, Royersford, Pennsylvania
St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Dover, New Hampshire
Staples High School, Westport, Connecticut
Staples High School, Westport, Connecticut
Stone Bridge High School, Ashburn, Virginia
Stuyvesant High School, New York, New York
The Columbus Academy, Gahanna, Ohio
The Nightingale-Bamford School, New York, New York
Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, VA
Valley High School, West Des Moines, Iowa
Vilonia High School, Vilonia, Arkansas
West Ottawa Highs School, Holland, Michigan
West Windsor-Plainsboro HS South, Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Westfield High School, Westfield, New Jersey
Westfield High School, Westfield, New Jersey
Weymouth High School, South Weymouth, Massachusetts
White Bear Lake Area High School, White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Winchester High School, Winchester, Massachusetts
Wylie East High School, Wylie, Texas